Cold, Wet and Cooking


Today is our second straight day of cold, wet weather.  It seems like only yesterday we were in the middle of summer, with the kids eating freeze pops like their life depended on it, and me in the kitchen cooking dinner whilst sweating to American Idiot by Green Day.  (I would have cooked more on the grill, but the flames kept flaring up from underneath, and it wasn’t safe to use.  I tried contacting Char Broil, but got no response.)

Now that I think of it, this was the summer of breakage.  First, our AT&T U-verse failed to work for over a month, then the refrigerator broke, then the grill broke, and now the dishwasher is also broken.  Both cars needed repairs, but only one got attention due to lack of funds. (We just keep our fingers crossed when we drive the other one.)  I wonder what will break next.

But back to dinner.  Today seemed like a good day for spaghetti and meatballs, using the recipe I blogged about previously.  In a concession to healthy eating, I substituted seasoned whole wheat breadcrumbs for the usual Italian.  No one knew the difference.  They still tasted yummy, according to my wife and kids.  (Yummy is not a word I normally use, as it doesn’t sound right coming from a 6’4″ 350 pound behemoth.)

Yes, I do weigh 350 pounds.  I know this because I was weighed at the cardiologist’s office today during my appointment.  (Most normal scales don’t go that high.)  But Dr. Touhy, a nice Irish boy, was pleased overall, as I lost five pounds and my blood pressure was 120/72.  Since I stopped driving for a living my health has improved.

As for the kids, they like their new school but miss their old one.  Cait got to hang out with her cousin Jack, my cousin Joanie’s son – he is also a twin; his sisters name is Molly – but my twins are slightly older.  Yet it’s cool having two sets of twins in the family, especially now that they go to the same school.

My father-in-law, Flip, has just been informed he needs another stent put in, this just three weeks after his last one.  I wish he would go for a second opinion.  Doctor Touhy said Flip’s doctor, who shall remain nameless, has an IQ that can be measured on a scale from 1 to 10.  Not exactly a vote of confidence.  And this decision was made a week after his last check-up.  Why now?  Kathy is going to call the Doctor to get the lowdown.  So keep him in your prayers, if you are so inclined.

Well, that’s all for today.  See you all tomorrow, same Mr Mom time, Same Mr Mom channel.

PS  The Doctors name is Kramer.

About breezespeaks

The Awful Truth is about Life, Sports, Politics, Religon, Food, News and anything else that tickles my fancy. My wife Kathy, and my kids, Will and Cait, will make periodic appearances as needed. So lets begin.
This entry was posted in Family, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold, Wet and Cooking

  1. Ali Tighe says:

    Tell the Old Man to come to Bridgeport Hospital! They will take good care of him (and I am there). I would be happy to give him some names of Dr’s…

Leave a comment