Mr. Mom’s Pot Luck


I was going to grill up some boneless chicken thighs tonight, and serve it with refried beans and rice, but Kathy and Cait got tied up – no, not literally, though the thought has crossed my mind where Cait is concerned – so I put that meal on hold.  But I had to make something with the chicken or it would go bad (having been previously frozen.)  What is Mr. Mom to do?

I started by frying up a large onion – you can use two if you like – in olive oil, along with a pinch of salt.  Next I diced up the chicken, about a pound and a half worth, and added it to the onion.  Letting that cook on a low heat, I added cumin, white pepper and another pinch of salt.  Saute that until all the chicken is cooked and the onions are translucent.   Put all that aside in a big bowl.

I lightly cleaned the pan with a paper towel, leaving a slight coating of oil.  Using burrito size tortillas I laid one on the bottom of the pan, ladled in some chicken, and covered it with cheese.  You can use a Mexican mix, cheddar or whatever you like.  Lay another tortilla on top, let it cook for a few minutes, flip it over, and you have your own home-made quesadilla.  Will and I loved it, and I can make more when the girls get home.

The price of the meal was negligible.  The chicken was $4.50, the tortillas $2.09, the cheese $2.00 (Sargento on special) and the onion $1.00, for a grand total of $9.59.  If you make a meal of it with the refried beans and rice, the total comes to $11.59.  Not bad, right?  And I dare say it is better than what you can get at Sloppy Jose’s, a local Mexican restaurant (though they always made a great tortilla soup.)

On the subject of food, I have decided to make the kids lunch for school this year, as their cafeteria food leaves much to be desired.  Besides the usual sandwiches, like PB&J, deli meat and such, what else can I give them?  I doubt they want a thermos of soup, and how warm would it stay?  Nothing worse than lukewarm soup.  And they have no access to a microwave (but I’m not a fan of them anyways, as we got rid of ours years ago.)  Any suggestions?  Besides the basics, I haven’t a clue.

With school just over two weeks away, Will and Cait are getting nervous, as I bet all kids do. What will the new year bring (other than quiet mid-mornings for daddy?)  Getting back on schedule will be a problem, as the kids are used to staying up until 11:00pm lately, and sleeping in until I force them out of their fart sacks (an old army euphemism.)  They’re in for a shock that first morning, but they do have new clothes to wear, so hopefully that will motivate them.

Speaking of clothes, have you seen the price of a pair of jeans?  But that’s a story I’ll save for another day.  I am Mr. Mom.

About breezespeaks

The Awful Truth is about Life, Sports, Politics, Religon, Food, News and anything else that tickles my fancy. My wife Kathy, and my kids, Will and Cait, will make periodic appearances as needed. So lets begin.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment